Kevin Kelly’s Fabulous Quote on Technology

A couple weeks ago I was watching a TED Talk on my iPhone. It was Kevin Kelly on how technology evolves (TED2005, Nov 2006). In it, Kelly gives one of the best quotes on our  moral obligation to develop and disseminate technology that I have ever heard. When I went back to my office, I spent the time transcribing it and I’ll share it with you here:

If you can imagine Mozart before the technology of the piano was invented: what a loss to society that would be. Imagine Van Gogh being born before the technologies of cheap oil paints. Imagine Hitchcock before the technologies of film. Somewhere today there are millions of young children being born whose technology of self-expression has not yet been invented. We have a moral obligation to invent technology so that every person on the globe has the potential to realize their true difference.

Kevin Kelly on how technology evolves, TED2005, Nov 2006

I have since put this quote on my door, but need to enlarge it. The width of an 11.5 inch page, just doesn’t do it credit. I hope you find it as inspiring as I did.

Leave a Reply

